The East African Community (EAC) integration process is based on a market-driven cooperation (EAC Treaty 1999, Art 7), thereby placing the EAC private sector at the heart of the EAC strategy to attain the attainment of sustainable growth and development of the region. As part of its 20th Anniversary Celebrations, the East African Business Council (EABC) intends to bring to the fore this critical role of the private sector in the EAC through the launching of the  EABC Business Excellence Awards (EABC BEAs).

The EABC BEAs, which will be biennial, seek to reinforce the critical role of the private sector and to recognise and celebrate businesses from Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda that demonstrate exceptional business performance in accelerating regional growth, creating wealth and employment and reducing poverty across the region.

As the only regional business awards, the EABC-BEAs provide businesses in East Africa an opportunity to compete for the ultimate business accolade at the EAC level.

The inaugural EABC BEAs are expected to be launched on 10th January 2018 and unveiled at an Gala Dinner to be held on 23rd March 2018 at the Kenyatta International Conference Center.

Key Dates:

Awards Launch and entries open - January 10 , 2018
Awards entries close - February 7th , 2018
Commencement of judging process & Auditing Process - February 8th, 2018
Desktop review by Judges - Week of February 8th -15th, 2018
Judges face to face meeting - Week of February 19th -23rd, 2018
Completion of Judging process - March 7th, 2018
Finalists announced - Week of March 12th, 2018
Conference and Awards Gala Night - March 23, 2018
Winners Luncheon - March 24th, 2018