EABC is managed by a 22 member Executive Committee, headed by a Chairperson, elected from the  Partner States on annual rotational basis. A Secretariat based in Arusha manages the day to day activities of EABC. The Secretariat is headed by an Executive Director with Professional and Support staff.

Management Structure

Annual General Meeting 

Being a Business Membership Organisation (BMO), the AGM is the supreme policy making organ of the East African Business Council (EABC). The AGM, which brings together all active members, meets once a year to elect the Executive Committee headed by the Chairperson and to give overall direction to the Secretariat in line with the Strategic Plan and interests of the business community.

Executive Committee 

EABC is managed by a 22 member Executive Committee, also called the Board. It is headed by a Chairperson, elected from the 5 Partner States on an annual rotational basis and 4 Vice Chairs from each of the States not holding the Chair. Each country nominates 4 Members to the Executive Committee. The Past Chair and the Executive Director (who is also the Secretary to the Board) are the other 2 members The Board provides leadership and supervision over the Council’s affairs by undertaking the following roles:

  • Oversee and monitor the EABC strategy and advance the Council’s mission and vision;
  • Approve Annual Budgets;
  • Provide guardianship of corporate values;
  • Increase the Council’s value to members and stakeholders within an appropriate framework which safeguards the rights and interests of the Council’s members and stakeholders;
  • Monitor the integrity of financial reporting;
  • Oversee risk management and legal compliance and stakeholder communications.

Board Sub-Committees 

EABC has various Board Sub-committees appointed to assist in implementing the EABC mandate by offering advice on matters that would need consideration of the Executive Committee. Each sub-committee has members drawn from each of the Partner States, meets quarterly and present reports to the Executive Committee.

The Sub- Committees of the board include:

  1. Finance & Administration Committee: advices on all financial, administration and personnel related matters.
  2. Policy & Advocacy Committee: advices on matters related to policy, organizational mission and advocacy. The committee guides on various policies, strategies, programmers, initiatives, lobby and advocacy campaigns which aim at shaping and influencing various Integration issues aiming at improving the trade, industry and investment in the EAC region and beyond.
  3. Resource Mobilization Committee: advices on all matters related resource mobilization to enable achievement of organizational financial sustainability.


A Secretariat based in Arusha, Tanzania manages the day to day activities of EABC and is headed by an Executive Director with five departments :- Trade & Policy, Communications, Membership, Finance & Administration and Business Development. EABC also has liaison officers in each of the EAC Partner States.

EABC National Focal Points – At national level, EABC activities are coordinated through the EABC National Focal Points / Chapters, who are also the national Private Sector umbrella bodies. These are:

Burundi - Federal Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Burundi (CFCIB)

Kenya - Kenya Private Sector Alliance (KEPSA)

Rwanda - Rwanda Private Sector Federation (PSF)

Tanzania - Tanzania Private Sector Foundation (TPSF)

Uganda - Private Sector Foundation Uganda (PSFU)

Through the National focal points, EABC aims to reach a wide cross section of the Private Sector. The focal points also play a critical role in harmonizing positions for regional related issues.