Our Partners

East African Community (EAC) 

The East African Community (EAC) was originally founded in 1967, dissolved in 1977, and revived with the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community (the Treaty Establishing EAC) signed in 1999 by Kenya, Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania. Burundi and Rwanda became members in 2007 while South Sudan gained accession in April 2016. EAC aims to gradually establish among themselves a Customs Union, a Common Market, a Monetary Union, and ultimately a Political Federation of the East African States. 




German Agency for International Cooperation (GIZ) 

The German Agency for International Cooperation (GIZ) represents the German government in development cooperation all over the world. GIZ operates in many fields, including economic development; governance and democracy; security, reconstruction, peacebuilding among others. The East African Community (EAC) and Germany are united by a long history of cooperation that predates the re-establishment of the East African Community (EAC) in 2000. The German government has supported the East African integration since 1999, based on the common understanding that regional integration will improve the social and economic development of EAC Partner States. Since then, Germany has committed more that 580 million euros for development cooperation with the EAC, making Germany one of the biggest and most reliable bilateral development partners of the community. 




Federation of German Industries | Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie (BDI) 

The Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie (BDI) is the  Federation of German Industries. The Federation of German Industries (BDI) is the leading organization of the German industry and industry-related service providers. It represents 40 industry associations and more than 100,000 companies with around 8 million employees. 

Federation of German Industries -East African Business Council Partnership Project: The EABC- BDI Partnership Project aims at improving EABC’s policy advocacy for a deepened regional economic integration in the framework of the East African Community (EAC). Since 2015, the EABC and the BDI work closely together to ensure the effective representation of private sector issues in the EAC integration agenda. This includes making the benefits of regional economic integration more tangible and visible for companies and citizens. 




EU-EAC Market Access Upgrade Programme (MARKUP)  

The EU-EAC Market Access Upgrade Programme (MARKUP) is a four-year regional development initiative that aims to contribute to the economic growth of the EAC region. The programme assists small and middle-sized enterprises in Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda by targeting specific agricultural commodities (i.e. avocado, cocoa, coffee, spices, tea and horticulture). More specifically, it aims to support increased exports of agribusiness and horticultural products, promote regional integration and enhance SMEs’ participation in intra-regional trade and the European market. MARKUP is funded under the 11th European Development Fund and is implemented by ITC, the United Nations Organization for Industrial Development and the Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit and other national partners. 

Link: https://www.eacmarkup.org/ 


International Trade Center (ITC) 

The International Trade Centre (ITC) is the joint agency of the World Trade Organization and the United Nations based in Geneva, Switzerland. ITC helps small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in developing and transition countries to connect and become more competitive in global markets, contributing to the sustainable economic development in the Aid for Trade agenda and to the Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations. 

Link: http://www.intracen.org/‎ 



 United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) 

Established by the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations (UN) in 1958 as one of the UN’s five regional commissions, ECA’s mandate is to promote the economic and social development of its member States, foster intra-regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa’s development 

Link: https://www.uneca.org/ 


World Bank Group / IFC 

The World Bank Group is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries. Established in 1944, its mission is to fight poverty with passion and professionalism, for lasting results. 

Website Link : www.ifc.org 



Africa Union (AU) 

The African Union (AU) is a continental body consisting of the 55 member states that make up the countries of the African Continent. It was officially launched in 2002 as a successor to the Organisation of African Unity (OAU, 1963-1999). 

Website Link : www.au.int 



Africa Development Bank (AfDB) 

The overarching objective of the African Development Bank (AfDB) Group is to spur sustainable economic development and social progress in its regional member countries (RMCs), thus contributing to poverty reduction. 

The Bank Group achieves this objective by: 

  • mobilizing and allocating resources for investment in RMCs; and 
  • providing policy advice and technical assistance to support development efforts. 

In 2015, all multilateral development institutions have agreed on a same set of objectives, called the Sustainable Development Goals. They are: 

Website Link : www.afdb.org 



TradeMark Africa (TMA) 

TradeMark Africa (TMA), formerly TradeMark East Africa, is an Aid-for-Trade organisation that was established in 2010, with the aim of growing prosperity through increased trade. TMA operates on a not-for-profit basis and is funded by: Belgium, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, Canada, Denmark, the European Union, Finland, France, Ireland, the Netherlands, Norway, the United Kingdom and the United States of America. 

TMA works closely with regional intergovernmental organisations, including the African Union (AU), the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) Secretariat, the East Africa Community (EAC), the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), the Common Market for East and Southern Africa (COMESA), the Southern Africa Customs Union (SACU), national Governments, the private sector and civil society organisations. Link:https://www.trademarkafrica.com   




African Export-Import Bank  

The African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank) is the foremost Pan-African multilateral financial institution devoted to financing and promoting intra- and extra-African trade. The Bank was established in October 1993 by African governments, African private and institutional investors, and non-African investors. Its two basic constitutive documents are the Establishment Agreement, which gives it the status of an international organization, and the Charter, which governs its corporate structure and operations.

Link: https://www.afreximbank.com/